Real Life Stories

Ok, your opportunity has come.  Over the past several months, I have read some amazing stories from moms about the realities of becoming a mother and the complex emotions that come along with this most amazing and challenging gift.  I invite you, Dear Readers, to contribute your stories here- stories about what it was like for YOU in the first few days, weeks, or months after  bringing your baby home (and this is a call out to all moms, whether you adopted or gave birth).

For some of you, this may be the first time that you have shared your journey, for others, you may have written about this time and time again.  Some of you may have even had your stories published elsewhere.  But I hope that all of you are able to take a deep breath, find some courage and confidence, and open up windows of validation for others who may need to hear from you.

I thank you in advance, for being a part of this community of support.

About katekripke

I am a Licensed Clinical Social Worker LCSW) with a practice specializing in prenatal and postpartum wellness, including the prevention and treatment of Perinatal Mood Disorders. I am also a Colorado State Coordinator for Postpartum Support International.
This entry was posted in mom-to-mom. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Real Life Stories

  1. Nicolle says:

    In the wake of the death of the baby in Superior at (allegedly) the hands of his mother, I definitely feel like I need to sound off a little. When my daughter was born I was shocked at the love I felt for her, but it was also a very overwhelming (at times isolating) experience. I cried ALOT, and sometimes really missed my life before she was born. I felt guilt mixed with love mixed with horrible anxiety, sadness, fear, confusion, and the sleep deprivation that caused me to hallucinate at times along with my hormones going back to *normal* – well, all of that did not make me a happy new mama. Through time and with support of friends and family I was able to get through it relatively unscathed. I just had my second child (a son) three months ago. I thought I was doing very well this time, but that same feeling started to creep up on me. This time I recognized it, my husband recognized it and I went to my doctor seeking help. This was the very best decision I could have made and I SHOULD have done this with my daughter. I’m on some anxiety medication that has helped IMMENSELY. I’m much happier, and am able to think clearly and be the gentle, loving, present mama I want to be. The early days of motherhood are HARD, but they should not be DEBILITATING. If you feel miserable even after the initial few weeks post partum, go talk to someone who can help you sort things out and perhaps prescribe some medication to help you through. Best wishes to you all.

  2. Traci says:

    Having PPD hit me like a major surprise. I had never expressed depression before. Wait, I thought I was having a baby would be so wonderful, life would be complete and everything I ever wanted.

    But I felt like I made the wrong decision and I was stuck.

    Then I thought it would go away, I would LOVE motherhood and not care about all the things that took my time before baby. In fact, I remember wishing it *was* the baby blues.

    Baby is now 2. I still miss my old life. I still wish I was like all those new happy moms or mom’s just ecstatic to have a toddler and do nothing else. Plus I always wanted to give baby a sibling. I’m scared.

    But I don’t repress my feelings now. I get out still and appreciate it more than ever, I don’t take it for granted and I definitely now stop and smell the flowers. I come back to my son, excited, appreciative and not regretting. I try not to compare or have expectations. I learn from him. He is teaching me. His laugh is contagious even when I am cleaning up his mess for the 10th time in one hour. I look forward to seeing him when I’m not with him and am looking forward to planning fun things together.

    I have also accepted I am not one of those moms I thought I would be. I am not with him 24 x 7. Daycare is something that has helped.

    I do wish that I have more mom’s that I can relate too. And if I had to do it all over again, I would get help.

    I needed help, but I didn’t understand why I felt the way I did – so it took a while. It’s still hard at times but I count the good ones.

    I’d help other new moms!

  3. katekripke says:

    Your stories and your honesty are moving, to say the least. Thanks to you both.

    Keep em’ coming.

Leave a Reply

